Some people think that the new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice.

In recent years, some people hold the idea that new houses should be built in the traditional style, while others prefer to think that the local authorities should allow people to build houses based on their own choices and ideas. There are numerous aspects to both arguments and this essay will discuss the possible reasons with examples that support each view. On the one hand, the people who support the traditional way of building the construction are those who hold a sense of equality in mind and want to establish harmony and uniformity among the people who live on the premise. In addition to that, they encourage conventional models of buildings to keep the heritage alive and to enrich their culture. For example, Kalpathy, a heritage village in Kerala, has strict rules that the inhabitants should build houses in the traditional Agrahara style to preserve their legacy. This has provided aesthetic beauty, which captures high tourist attraction, to the entire village. Moreover, the uniqueness of the village has increased the personal relations within the natives along with peaceful living conditions. On the other hand, regardless of the above argument, other people choose to believe that personal freedom and choices have their importance on people’s lives in the modern world. Most importantly, the uniqueness and individuality of the construction depict the personality of the house owner. While allowing people to build houses by their own choices helps them to create innovative accommodation with all the available facilities can control the damages caused by future climatic changes. For instance, people can build houses in pillars that allow water to flow easily under the basement to overcome the loss caused by heavy floods. Furthermore, it is significant to mention that the people would be able to build houses according to their income, required amenities, infrastructure and so on. Therefore, it is evident that personal freedom is a notable argument among this. In conclusion, both the arguments have their aspects and it seems to me that the second argument is the most suitable one in a contemporary world where people give priorities to personal choices than the conventional way of thinking.