Some people think that the government should provide free education at every level. However, some say that individuals should pay for their university education.

In recent years, some people support the opinion that free education should be provided by the government at every level of education, while others prefer to think that aspirants should accommodate the tuition fees of their higher education. There are numerous aspects to both arguments and this essay will examine the possible reasons with examples that support each view. On the one hand, the people who support the free education system are those who hold a sense of equality in mind and they are considering education as a basic right of the citizens in the country. In addition to that, they often thought that higher education is the backbone of a country to develop its human resources which gradually contributes a huge share to the nation’s growth in terms of a productive workforce. For instance, India's rank in the Human Development Index was 153 in 1990, where only 20% of the young population was enrolled for university education. But it has increased to 98th position in 2016, where about 80% of the youngsters are having higher education in the country. On the other hand, it is often believed that providing free education would create a tremendous financial burden on the government. Moreover, subsidising higher education directly connected with the quality of the education provided in the country. For example, if a developing country makes higher education free of cost, then the private players will not be involved in that sector. It, later on, resulted in inefficient management of the fund and negatively influence the quality of the courses. In conclusion, although the removal of the fees imposed on university education does help the aspirants, I strongly believe that the individuals should pay the cost of their higher education instead of imposing additional expenditure on the government’s exchequer.