An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Although sophisticated technology contributes hugely to the school education nowadays, the influx of laptops and tablets can also cause serious issues. This essay will demonstrate how technology can transform the education sector but will show that it can also lead to a hasty surge in the health issues among the students. Although this problem is a significant one, the essay argues that the advantages of sophisticated technology do outweigh the disadvantages. One of the main advantages is that it reduces the burden of daily backpacks to the schools. Moreover, the tablets, laptop computers and other facilities provided by the schools would replace the heavy books and printed materials. Another merit is that it generates certain enthusiasm in students to use advanced technologies which later on helps them to learn regularly. For example, the lectures through the Byju’s Learning App are more visually appealing and interesting to students when compared to the traditional way of classroom learning. With everyone now having a new technology, the accessibility has greatly increased. The environment friendly materials have also had a massive impact on nature, largely due to technology. However, a revolution through better technologies can lead to some worrying issues. One of the most serious of these is an escalation in the health issues among the students. This is a significant problem faced by most of the students these days mainly eyesight disturbances, headache, social dilemma and many other mental instabilities. Another disadvantage is that it raises the laziness between the students, which creates an addictive tendency towards the technologies. Consequently, students may be distracted from their studies or even from the society. In conclusion, although technology can result in notable lifestyle problems and health issues among the students, it greatly paved the way for the massive revolution in the education system throughout the world as well as creating enormous environment friendly classrooms. Hence, the positive effects of the innovative technology directly outweigh the drawbacks.