Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the opportunity to help other people. Do you agree or disagree?

Financial abundance is a luxury that not everyone can experience. On the one hand, there are people who are inherently rich and come from rich families and backgrounds. On the other hand, there are people whose riches are hard earned. Either way, rich people are known to habitually share their riches with the less fortunate. Some people are of the opinion that this is the most important thing about being rich. I personally agree with this perspective as a person who is blessed with financial abundance through my career as a medical officer. I believe that rich people can help uplift the quality of life of poorer people in numerous ways. In a country like Sri Lanka, rich people make frequent donations to orphanages and institutions for the less fortunate including the disabled and the elderly. They also donate money to poor families living in rural areas of the country. I have had the fortune of attending several charity events and can attest to how such acts help improve the quality of life of poor families. Substantial donations help them cope with daily expenses and also helps them afford a better education for their children. This is beneficial in the long run as this ensures children are later equipped with a good education and this improves their career prospects. Furthermore, it is a well established fact that rich people can make generous donations to numerous charity and non profit organizations that aid and assist poor people in rural and developing countries around the world. This has been well documented on television and social media and there are numerous web based platforms for rich people to make considerable donations for the benefit of people in poor and war torn countries. In conclusion, as a regular donor, I agree with the opinion that having the opportunity to help the less fortunate is one of the most important things about being rich or financially sufficient. It is indeed a blessing to be able to assist in improving the quality of life of the less fortunate.