Some People Think That the Most Important Function of Music Is to Help People Relax.

It is widely suggested that the fundamental purpose of music is to aid relaxation. This essay will explain why I partially disagree with this view on the basis that it is not possible to assign a single primary function to music as a whole. Admittedly, it is true that relaxation can at times be the most important function of music because we need it to help us unwind from daily stress. For instance, genres such as classical and easy-listening produce calming melodious harmonies which can divert one's attention from this sense of pressure. If, in contrast, a person did not have the option of listening to music which they found relaxing, they would feel likely more stressed, which could lead to burnout. However, there are various other crucial functions which different types of music can fulfil. To illustrate, when a person wants to perform at high intensity in the gym, they will most likely choose to listen to high-adrenaline music like EDM, pop, or other high-tempo genres. If, instead, they chose to listen to relaxing songs, their performance would be harmed. There can even be different functions for the same kind of music, such as in the case of classical, which can help people to relax but can help them to focus. The function of music, then, depends on what the listener wants to achieve by playing it. In conclusion, while relaxation is a vital function which music can offer due to its ability to help us switch off from the pressures of daily life, music at the same time has other purposes, such as enhancing energy and concentration, which can be equally significant depending on the occasion.