Some people think that the main aim of advertising by big companies is to increase their sale of products that people don’t really need. with this view?

The world we live in is governed by different brands and service providers, and our consumerism habit has become an alternative orthodox in this day and age. This ideology is espoused through various promotional strategies by giant corporations designed to convince consumers that if they consume certain products, their life will be better, happier, and far more successful. In most cases, I believe, those adverts are some ways to encourage people to make an unnecessary purchase. No doubt, advertising is the key driver of boosting sales of many goods and services, inducing customers to buy goods and services that they do not need. To commence with, any product or service that consumers find truly essential to survive and thrive does not require a promotional campaign; they, in fact, are seeking them out. That is why, we rarely, if ever, find an advertisement for gasoline or utilities. But when it comes right down to the “things” people fill their lives with, the advertisement can implant profound longing for the product in consumers. A case in point is my cousin who purchased the latest iPhone last month, but there is nothing wrong with the old one she was using. The new release created an illusion that it was much better and advertisement played a big role in it. Thus, advertising creates artificial needs, driving people to unnecessary purchases. Similarly, advertising manipulates psychology so as to influence human behaviour, thus increasing sales of goods and services that consumers do not need at all. Psychological appeals provide a sound basis for successful advertising. Going far beyond the standard advertising pitch about the product’s utilities, psychological appeals can reach consumers’ self-esteem, and persuade them that they will feel markedly better about themselves if they use particular products. Take washing machine advertisements for an example. These ads create a mother’s need to clean her laundry more efficiently so that she can devote more time to her child. It clearly depicts that the key motto of advertisement is to augment sales of unnecessary products. To recapitulate, the primary goal of advertising by big brands and companies is to soar sales of products and services regardless of the real necessity of consumers and induce people to make unnecessary purchases.