The Covid-19 pandemic has spread frighteningly and rapidly

Abstract: The Covid-19 pandemic has spread frighteningly and rapidly in all countries of the world, forcing humanity to lead an abnormal life, and the matter has been further complicated by the emergence of new strains of this epidemic, which appear to be more infectious and possibly more dangerous. The lack of full control over this epidemic and its new strains and the challenge of developing fully effective vaccinations endangers human life. Fighting against the epidemic has become important, as all these measures could not be taken in the near future. For this reason, it is important to find out whether a person infected with the virus expressed in thousands of people has Covid-19 or not and to take the necessary measures. For this purpose, in this study, we propose an artificial intelligence-based method has that will speed up the diagnosis of the pandemic by saving labour and expense. In the study, X-Ray images were processed with the most up-to-date deep image processing techniques, and an objective decision support system was created, independent of the doctors’ expertise. Our proposed system can classify x-ray images as Normal, Covid -19, and Viral Pneumonia using pre-trained deep learning networks (AlexNet, MobileNetV2, GoogleNet, ResNet8, and ResNet50) with transfer learning (TL) and K-fold validation (KFCV). The overall accuracies of the networks (AlexNet, MobileNetV2, GoogleNet, ResNet8, and ResNet50) were 98%, 97. 4%, 97. 4%, 97. 4%, 98. 5% respectively. Also, for the average performance metrics values (Sensitivity, Specificity, Precision, F1-score, and Negative predictive value(NPV)). The best results were recorded by ResNet 50+TL+KFCV (97. 9% Sensitivity, 98. 9% Specificity, 97. 9% Precision, 97. 9 % F1-Score, and 98. 9% NPV ). It is easy to diagnose in the advanced stages of the disease. As with most diseases, early diagnosis is important in COVID-19. With the proposed system based on deep learning, a very useful tool in combating the pandemic has been created by determining the disease at an early stage. The proposed system can also be used in areas with a shortage of health personnel such as rural and remote areas.