Some people think that the internet will replace traditional books in the future. Do you believe this would be positive or a negative development?

Advertising has advanced to a great extent in the past decade due to cut throat competition in the market. Every company wants to promote their products and increase the brand value and earn more and more money. And advertising helps to a great extent. In today’s world, we can see a huge of products in the same category and therefore, to stand out in the market, the companies prefer better advertisements or banner or even better packaging. So, when the target customer watches the advertisements on the TV or in newspapers, what they see are their magnified good qualities or features. In this essay, I will be mentioning about how the commercials mislead buyers. Because people in today’s world care about saving money wherever possible, the companies use the words like “SALE” or “Discounts” to attract people. We, as a customer, see an opportunity to save money and think of buying the product without even looking into the details of them or whether we need it or not. What we fail to understand is that this help the companies to sell out their old stocks. I will take the example of Amazon Echo. In the advertisements, what we see is that the owner asks to play a song or asks for an information and echo plays that song or replies with the answer. We start to think about “It is so small”, “How can it do it? ”, “What if I have it and use it for so many things? ”. But what the product is really doing is making the people lazy and lethargic. It is taking you away from learning it by yourself by looking into books or on the web. Similarly, there are commercials for “Kissan tomato ketchup”, which shows that kids add ketchup to any type of food to make it worthy to eat. Is it really the truth? No. But this still attracts kids. They will try to convince parents to buy one for them as the advertisement shown kids in it. Kids won’t understand the fact that there are other household cheaper ways to achieve good taste in the food. So, in conclusion, I would like to say that people should be thinking about the positives of the product and its usefulness in their life, rather than getting mesmerized by the looks and the way it has been presented in the advertisements.