TPO 17 – Independent: A/D? Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

It can be evidently seen that the population around the globe is rising day by day. The population explosion and its control have become two main hot topics nowadays. Some governments try to fix this issue by adapting various means such as imposing taxes. I am in the favor that it is many a time important to control population by implementing such measures. On one hand, the growth in population is escalating steeply in the countries such as India and China, where around 34% of the world’s population is concentrated. This unchecked rise in population can be rectified by imposing taxes. To illustrate, such a model of taxation is working in China, where the ‘one child policy’ is doing wonders and the whopping overpopulation of China has decreased to only 0. 25% growth per annum which in turn, helped China to emerge as a super power in the past decade. On the other hand, other methods can be introduced by various governments as according to the conditions and circumstances of a particular nation. For instance, a new initiative is taken in many European countries such as Switzerland, where the people are discouraged to have more than two kids by making a precedent of not selling land to anyone having more than two children. Moreover, some other leaderships of the developing countries are encouraging people to adopt the children rather than begetting their own. This, in my opinion, is rather a progressive step which is not only helpful for an individual, but also for a society as a whole. To conclude, albeit it is the duty of the government to keep a check on rising population, it is more the responsibility of citizens instead to act accountably.