Some people think that the internet has brought people together while others think that people and communities are become more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is thought by some that technology has shrunk the world and made it easier to establish relationships, others counter that it has in fact led many people to disengage. From my point of view, although, communication via social networking sites had simplified our lives, segregation could be caused by technology. Probably the best argument in favour of the internet bringing people closer is the fact, it is a global phenomenon. Due to the massive popularity of the internet, most people have proclivity to ignore face-to-face communication. Furthermore, proponents of this idea claim that, the era of computers today has brought mankind means to easily send messages to people all over the world. In order to the emergence of social networking sites, such as, WhatsApp, Facebook, it has given to rise to the fastest and easiest means to send messages. A distant person can now able to call, message, and video call his loved ones anytime and anywhere as long as there is network connection. 188 Those who support the idea that technology had driven people further apart from one another, would emphasize the "balkanization" phenomenon. By this, we mean that, as the society is driven far apart, people tend to establish their own world in the unrealistic circumstances. Many become addicted to their gadgets, such as phones and laptops, where they either engage in a chat or online games, thus, ignoring their immediate environment and those around them. In my opinion, while the net has brought individuals close, we are busy online spending time with people unknown to us, without considering those within our reach. As a consequence, there is a reduced social interaction and activity, which in turn, leads to lack of understanding, segregation and loneliness. In conclusion, whereas the net has bridged the gap between individuals, in my opinion it has put the community in isolation due to less face-to-face communication.