Some people think that the Internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both sides and state your opinion.

People can communicate in person or with the help of the internet. Whereas some believe that online technology unites individuals, others think that it divides them. In this essay I will discuss that cyberspace brings individuals together sometimes but mostly isolates them. People argue that the World Wide Web lets them be in touch with their loved ones. In fact, during the coronavirus pandemic, most individuals communicated with each other with the help of the cyberspace. For example, immigrants talked to their families during Christmas through zoom meetings. Nevertheless, the internet only unifies people for short periods of time and does not provide the same level of intimacy than face-to-face interaction does. Still, it is a good means of communication during situations such as the one we are currently living in. While the World Wide Web helps people that are apart from each other communicate, it mainly isolates people. People are nowadays excessively plugged to their electronic devices all day that they forget to interact with their close ones. Five people can live in a same house and not talk to each other because they are busy using social media. Also, online communication has replaced face-to-face meetings and, even though people message each other using the internet, they rarely communicate. Someone can text other ten people throughout the day and still not getting to know a person and feel lonely. Real communication and the true acknowledgement of the other only occur when having direct contact with the other person. Thus, face-to-face communication is more efficient in connecting people than the internet. Some think that the World Wide Web connects people and others believe that the opposite happens. In this essay I expressed that the internet connects people for short periods of time and under certain circumstances but mainly isolates them.