Studies show that many criminals do not receive enough education. For this reason, people believe that the best ways to reduce crime is to educate them so they can find a job after being released. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that the most appropriate step to reduce the crime rate is to provide education for offenders because this will help them to find employment. Research has also revealed that a low level of education is a reason to commit an offence by a criminal. I do not agree with the statement that because this approach is expensive and chances of reoffending remains in society. This essay will explain the reasons for my disagreement using the examples of two united nations- the United Kingdom and the United States of America. To begin with, the main reason behind not providing education for criminals is that cost of this step is too high. This will increase the burden on the government's shoulders. Furthermore, the government will start neglecting the other sectors of society such as healthcare, school- education, and public transport. For instance, the United Kingdom Crime Association consulted with the government of their nation to allocate funds for education in prisons. As a result, other public sectors suffered and witnessed 35% of decrement in their funding. The second reason is that education does not guarantee that offenders will not commit a crime again after imprisonment. Take West Virginia as an example, a northwest state in the United States of America, where 67% of educated-criminals committed the crimes again after release from prisons. This was mainly because hardcore criminals have no impact on education and these expert criminals persuade young offenders to re-offend. Therefore, it is futile to educate criminals. In conclusion, it is true educating offenders in prisons is not an effective way to curtail crime because it requires a great deal of money and the most of the criminals resort to crime again after being released from prisons.