Some people think that the Internet has become one of the most common means of communication. Others believe that it has negative impacts on the society. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the Internet.

There is no denying the fact that the Internet is being considered as one of the most pivotal means of communication. However, the boom of Internet can also bring some risks for the contemporary society. One of the most obvious shortcomings is cyberbullying. Many cyber crimes abuse the explosion of the Internet to carry out their bullying acts. Most of this acts are all of time done behind the screen of a phone or computer. Therefore, it is really hard to trace each and every bully out there and stop them. According to a recent study, 37% of young people between the age of 12 and 17 in US has been bullied online and 30% have had it happen more once. Another jeopardy of the Internet is privacy issue. So much is shared online these day that issue over privacy is becoming an increasingly big concern. These things such as name, phone number, address which are usually put out online are at risk of being used by other people to make profit because little of privacy protection does social network provide. Take Facebook for example. Not only does Facebook allow users to see what kind of things others put in their profiles but it also shares this information with advertisement with an aim to make money. The ultimate downside is distorted news. It is undeniable that the Internet is permitting users to access huge storage of news. However, many websites exploit the readers' belief to launch an avalanche of information whose validity is not verified which not only contributes to the confusion for community but also diminishes the degree of authenticity of mass media. Take Covid19's pandemic for example. To captivate the readers' attention, many people uploaded fake figures about the number of deaths due to Coronavirus which negatively influenced on the mentality of humans. In conclusion, the Internet is given such huge drawbacks that it need to be taken into consideration carefully.