Some people believe that students at university should live far away from home while others argue living at home with their parents sounds better.

Over recent years, whether it is better for university students to live far away from home than to live at home with their parents remains a highly debatable issue. Although there are pros and cons of both approaches, I would prefer to stay near the university. Advocates of students’ decision to stay at home may argue that it is much more economical to stay at home than to stay near the university. If students choose to stay at the university, either they have to stay at the dormitory or rent their own apartment, both of which options appear to be more expensive compared to home. Besides, they have to do their own cooking and cleaning which is not the case if they stay at home where their mother looks after all these things. Of course, they do spend some time commuting to and from the university but then they can save their time on cooking and cleaning. However, it seems to me that staying near the university is a better option because I believe that university education is a time for students to mix with people of different backgrounds and cultures. This cultural exchange usually occurs after class hours. If students have to return home, they will miss out on this golden opportunity. Secondly, if students are on or near the campus, they will not be able to access good study facilities such as library and computer lab. Finally, living on campus will also offer students a chance to experience some independence. In conclusion, I would argue that it is definitely worthwhile to live at the university than with parents even if we have to shell out some extra money for that because it is a golden opportunity to interact with people of differentparts of the world and enjoy the benefits of facilities like the library and sports stadiums and gyms.