Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones nowadays has unwanted effects on young people’s reading and writing skills.

The rapid development of technology has offered people innovative devices such as Smartphones and Laptop computers, which made the lives of people easier. However, some claim that these advancements have negatively affected the literacy level of the young generation. I strongly agree with this argument. To begin with, youngsters spend a large portion of a day with their electronic devices. Previous generations did not have the luxury of mobile phones or computers. Hence, the most common entertainment they knew was books. Reading books improved their reading and writing skills. Unfortunately, today, people rarely have time to read newspapers or books. The downside of this is young people not getting the skills they needed to improve their literacy. Because they only use phones for social media and to watch videos, non of these help to increase the reading and writing talent of theirs. For instance, studies have proven that teenagers who spend an excessive amount of time with electronic devices tend to loose the oral communication skills as well. Additionally, numerous computer software developed for writing has encouraged youngsters to forget the language rules. All most all the computers today are consist of spell and grammar checkers. When people continuously use them, it is common to forget the spellings and the general writing rules of any particular language. Moreover, when using electronic communication methods such as short messages, young generation is using the short version of languages. The dangerous effect of this is some of those terms now identified as a part of the language. Therefore, due to smartphones and computers not only young, but everyone is loosing their writing touch. In conclusion, although electronic devices are easing the lifestyle of people today, the negative side of them is people loosing their reading and writing skills especially the young generation. The most common reason for this is spending more and more time with them and using various software designed for writing. Hence, I agree that these devices are causing certain damage to the literacy level of the adolescents.