High job demands, stress and sense of commitment are among the main reasons people go to work when they are ill. This way they accomplish important tasks, but may infect others or get some serious health problems themselves. In your opinion should people go to work if they are sick? Support your point of view with relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

ANSWER Some employees attend their work places while sick in order to finalise essential tasks. High job demand, stress and sense of commitment are among the main factors leading to this, but unfortunately they put their co-workers at risk of contacting the disease or chronically getting ill themselves. In this essay I agree that workers should be absent for work when sick. A sick person is weak to deliver quality service. Their general status is compromised and they fail to accomplish some tasks effectively. For example, a warehouse operator requires so much energy to work. Their job description is but not limited to heavy lifting and uploading of trucks. Therefore, employees needs to be well hydrated and energetic to achieve the best possible outcomes. Furthermore, some clients health detoriates when under pressure. For instance, those with chronic illnesses such as arthritis, need to take a break when they have a relapse. If rest is not considered, their symptoms will exacerbate. Data compiled by the Ministry of Health has revealed that 10 percent of heavy duty workers with long-term illnesses die before their retirement age. This clearly shows that high demand jobs have a negative effect on employees health. Therefore, such people should be given a sick leave. Lastly, infecting others at work puts a burden on the health system since more people requires medical attention. For example, in the recent times of coronavirus pandemic, the transmission get worse if an infected person attend work. Thus increasing the workload and employment of more health care workers. To conclude, although there is more job demand, pressure and sense of commitment in companies. Employees should not go to work when they are ill because that minimizes task quality and also puts a burden on health services. Sick leave should be obtained instead.