Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children.

Today most children in the world grow up with TY. This has both advantages and disadvantages. Children can learn many interesting and valuable things from TY. There are programs that are designed specifically to teach young people. Some of them' reinforce skills that children need for read­ ing. For example, they might help children learn to read letters and common words. Or they might have actors reading or telling stories. Other programs teach children fascinating facts a. bout the natural world or about life in other countries or about other interesting things. Through programs such as these, children can be exposed to information that they might not learn otherwise. Often I have seen children become excited about subjects they first heard about on TY. They then go on to seek out books and other sources of information about these subjects. On the other hand, there are also drawbacks to TY. For one thing, watching TV is a passive activity. Children don't participate in TV programs. They don't ask questions or tell their own opinions or choose what to do next. They just receive the information or entertainment they are given. Watching TV is also physically inactive. When children spend too much time watching TY, they don't spend enough time running and playing actively. In addition, there are a lot of programs on TV that are inappropriate for children, but children can still see them. This can be confusing and even scary for some. There are both good and bad sides to TY. One thing, however, is always true: too much of anything is never good.