Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children. mjjr

Television has become popular option of entertainment amoung kids since past many years. There are some advantages as well as a few drawbacks to it. One advantage of letting kids watch TV is to entertain themselves after a busy day at school. During school time, they have a schedule full of school activities and studying. Upon their arrival from school to home, they might have some assigments to do. However, once they are done with all of their study related tasks, I belive that they should be entertained by allowing them to watch TV cartoons which can easily help them to get relaxed. The other benefit could be that, in a good way, they might get easily be inspired from the characters they are watching. For example, my younger sister, Eliza, during her teen age, used to watch a singing competition show, from which she got inspired by an idiol singer thus she chose to be a singer. As a result, she became a popular singer. On the other hand there are a few disadvatages as well. First, there are many TV channels that cast some programs that has a lot of violence and crime. By consuming this kind of content, a child might have a negative effects on her. Secondly, rather than watching TV indoors, it would be more beneficial if children performsome kind of outdoor activities. This will help protect them from, as aforementioned, negative content. In addition, it will also help them do some exercise and be physically active. To conclude, at some extent children should be allowed to watch TV programs under the supervision of their parents.