New education policy has been introduced by the government. According to this policy, children are required to remain in the school or college till the age of 18. Discuss advantage or disadvantage of this policy.

Some countries require their children to remain at the school until the age of thirteen and others require children to continue their school education till the age of eighteen. In keeping view that children must get the education so that they are future ready to join the workforce and get enough maturity for their coming life, the government has passed a bill that keeps children in the school before they turn eighteen. Firstly, it is believed that children can not get sufficient education before the age of eighteen. Consequently, a child is not mature enough to deal with challenges of life. Life can be challenging for children if they are not guided properly. For example, kids may not understand how to tackle problems like drug abuse. Kids are always curious and therefore they may fall prey to people like drug dealers who would only want money. Additionally, there are so many changes that occur before the age of eighteen that children may not be comfortable with like menstruation, other bodily and emotional changes. When teenagers are among their peers they learn better how to deal with such conditions. Additionally, skill development is not possible before the age of eighteen. In fact, it takes many more years for us to learn skills that are required at work such as communication skills, computer skills, interpersonal skills, time management, leadership ability etcetera. As technology is advancing, the need for skill development is increasing and therefore a child cannot be assumed to be earning a decent living before learning such skills. To sum up, the decision of the government that children should remain in school or college till the age of eighteen is commendable because it gives a child time to become mature enough so that he is able to deal with challenges of life and to learn skills required for a living.