Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

Government spending have been criticized throughout the world on the basis of preferences. These people claim that government wastes money in the field of arts which could be preferably spent on other important areas. This essay will argue why I entirely disagree with this view point despite benefits related to spending on other areas. Many people think that art sector should not be look after by government and budget designated for it is not justified. They think that this money should be spend in different areas such as on education and infrastructure. Education, no doubt is very necessary for every single person as it changes the perspective of person, in addition to that it also improve country’s literacy rate. People also opine that infrastructure of country should be strong and advanced which is also a valid point as good roads promotes tourism. Electricity is a major requirement in this era and many rural people are not being blessed with this facility. For instance, report infers that 40 percent of population in Africa lives without electricity supply. These issues bolstered people that money specified for arts should be spend on the different areas as mentioned to lessen the problems faced by different people irrespective of from where they belong. People, including me and especially artists, have been excessively concerned about government’s spending on arts. This view point is justified as it leads to promotion of culture and artists throughout the world. Many handmade cloths and handicrafts made by small artists which is identity of any region is immensely liked and purchased by tourists from different areas of world. For example, Sindhi culture is described through a shawl known as Ajrak which is very popular. Country’s spending on artists promote their talent and therefore boost the economy as well. If money designated for arts is spent on areas such as education and infrastructure than results will be grave as it will not only be in favourable of economy but also artists will be demoralized, jobless and living would be compromised. Overall, the idea of relocating arts budget is ill-informed, moreover, problems will not only be unsolved but will also have worse outcomes In conclusion, this essay argues that people who favoured spending of money on arts in unreasonable have flawed understanding and underestimate the effects of what they believe. In my opinion, these problems cannot be solved by shifting the budget and making arts sector deprived, as it can be tackled by awareness, team work effort by NGOS and increasing the budget, not by relocating, for education and infrastructure.