Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere

pending capital on the arts by the government is debatable. Some believe it is mere waste of resources to spend on the arts. I strongly disagree with that view. Firstly, the arts play a pivotal role in learning. For generations, teachers have conveyed complicated concepts by drawing sketches. A picture is worth a thousand words. Projects like "Picturing to Learn", "Invisible Worlds: Micro- and Nanothings" are the best examples where elite universities use the art for teaching purposes. Drawings are considered as a universal language. Pictorial representation of a concept is very easy to remember. Investing money to develop this kind of art helps students in learning complex subjects with ease can't be considered as a wasting money. Secondly, the arts don't only have a strong roots in the culture, but also promote international trade. They preserve the civilizations for generations. Forms of the art like weaving, painting, dance and singing reflects the lifestyle of the locality. Ikkat sarees that are exported throughout the world, originated from Telangana is a very good example which promotes culture and generates income to many. Bharatha Natyam, a dance form which depicts the roots of Indian customs is highly sought out form of dance in the world. By funding the arts, government would able to preserve these rare arts that represent the locality and create employment opportunities as well. To conclude, allocating resources on the arts is not a waste. Arts help in learning complicated concepts, preserving the culture and in generating income by increasing employment opportunities. However, spending on the arts should not be at the expense of other sectors like health care, transportation which are more important.