Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be beer spent elsewhere.

It is thought by some that the government is squandering money on the arts, and this money could be better spent on vital areas. In my opinion, I strongly agree that the state should not be frivolous with money and spend this money on vital areas such as education or healthcare. A good reason not to waste money on the arts is that art does not play a vital role in society, and it has more detrimental effects on society as a whole. One of these problems is that some art encourages rebellion against the government as it fuels violence and incites hatred. This could lead to deleterious impacts on society in the long run. Another obvious issue with the arts is that it can be used by some artists to criticize religion, and this is deeply offensive. As a result, the government is not obligated to spend money on somethings can bring about more problems. Another point to consider is that funding ought to be better granted to more pressing social issues. To put it another way, any country in the world now is suffering from critical problems on how it can support people’s basic needs, such as education, healthcare system, and providing clean water. For example, education should be prioritized over the arts because increasing the number of educated people will bring greater rewards to society as a whole. If a country has a great resource of skilled and knowledgeable professionals, this can bring more economic advantages to this country in the long term. Finally, the government is not responsible to spend money to protect the arts because there are enough wealthy patrons around to subsidize the arts. For instance, a businessman in Egypt donated over ten millions of dollars to construct an art gallery because he is considered one of the art-loving people in the country. Furthermore, the money generated from entry fees can be used to restore and protect artworks. This income from entry fees means that the government will have more money to spend on vital areas. In conclusion, it is better if the money was allocated to support people’s basic needs, such as improving the healthcare system or funding higher education instead of wasting this money on the arts. Art will not help people to find a job later on.