Computers are becoming an essential part of education. Discuss Advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion.

Information Technology has become a quintessential part of the learning process. Whilst opponents are of the belief that students copy and past their articles from online resources, proponents believe that computers and internet have brought a myriad of merits to learners. I believe that advantages surpass the disadvantages, and in the following lines both positives and demerits of computers will be thoroughly discussed along with my point of view. On the one hand, the major advantage of utilizing technology in education is that pupils have access to vast amounts of information at the touch of a button. Google is a prime example, people can read, download and listen to hundreds of free online materials within seconds. Another advantage of the cutting-edged electronic devices is that it has aided undergraduates to receive instant feedback from their teachers, and they could even ask them whenever they want. Thus, Technology plays a pivotal role in education. As opposed to this, plagiarism has become increasingly common in the meantime. According to a recent article that has been published in Time Magazine, about 45% of university graduates in America have admitted that they copied at least one of their dissertations from Wikipedia during their university years. Another demerit is the dependence on computer rather than research study and visiting libraries. Educators, therefore, should monitor their students’ use of the internet and computer to curb this dangerous phenomenon which may eventually hinder their academic progress. In conclusion, having shown the aforementioned merits and drawbacks of computers, it can be reiterated that incorporating modern technology in education is advantageous. Despite the disadvantages of computers, I am of the belief that Information technology has revolutionized the way we learn. Therefore, I recommend any student to use his/her laptop inside or outside classrooms.