Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centres with apartment buildings where commuters can live .To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To reduce the commuting time to workplace, some people consider that parks and gardens in proximity to the city centres should be converted into apartments. I believe that such a change would not reduce the travelling time and on the contrary would create more problems. There are many reasons why I believe that replacing parks with apartment buildings would not reduce the travelling time. Firstly, the main reason for long travelling times is not the long distances but actually traffic congestion. This is due to increasing number of cars on the road and building apartments near to city centres would worsen the situation by adding even more cars on the road. Secondly, many people like to live far away because of the noise and overcrowding near the city centres and building new apartments would increase this problem even more. In other words, it would be very hard to convince people to move into such apartments. Moreover, taking such a drastic step would bring its own set of problems. To begin with, removing trees in parks and gardens would lead to air pollution, which can increase the risk of certain cancers and have adverse effects on children, the elderly and anyone with underlying respiratory problems. The lack of parks and gardens would further exacerbate such problems. Last but not least, parks provide space for neighbourhood residents to interact with each other meet new people. They are also great places for events and for people to engage in recreational activities. This allows people to develop a sense of community. Hence, converting parks into apartments would adversely impact people's quality of life and their sense of community. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that although I agree that travelling times need to be reduced, converting parks and gardens in the city centres would not be a step in the right direction.