Some people think that the best way to reduce time spend travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree.

Many people are considering travelling as one of the things to do in their bucket lists, and as a result international travel has been on the increase lately. This has had various advantages and disadvantages to the local countries and communities. In my opinion, an influx of tourists does more good than harm to the local citizens for the following reasons. Firstly, more foreigners travelling to a region would mean more circulation of money. In other words, foreigners will be purchasing things such as food, clothes, and souveniers which will ultimately benefit the local traders and shop owners in the form of higher profits. One of my uncles, for example, who owns a boutique, earns double the profits in December since it is the holiday season when compared to off-season months like in March. This is why, I strongly believe that tourism is a great opportunity for the local companies and citizens. Secondly, a region's people get to meet people from all over the world in the name of tourism. To be specific, natives can learn and gain awareness about things like another country's language, food and national attire through tourists. One of my best friends, for example, is from Scandanavia whom had I met in a local coffee shop when she was visiting my home state. I learnt various things about Scandanavia, and it was so fascinating that I have decided to visit the country next month during my winter holidays. In my opinion, tourists teach so many things through their visit that can leave a positive long lasting impact in the natives' lives. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that travellers income to a country is more advantageous to the local community. They bring in more trade and thereby, more earnings for the local businesses. In addition to it, local people also get the opportunity to learn about the visitor's country during their visit.