Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree.

Hours of traveling to work are such a huge problem to those who live far from the city center - in which quite a few companies and corporations are situated. Therefore, many suggest that enormous central land occupied by open-air spaces, like parks and gardens, should be used for housing instead. There are arguments drawn by the opposite side, but I believe this idea would be the best way to tackle the issue due to the advantages of time and traffic. The short distance between houses and their companies saves workers a great amount of time. Less time spent commuting means more time used to fulfill other tasks, which enhances one’s productivity. A daily long trip to work can hinder anyone from doing their utmost since it drains plenty of their energy. Also, possible consequences derived from lengthy transport such as tiredness, or frustration will be eliminated because more people will inhabit near their workplace. Another problem possibly solved thanks to the replacement is congestion. Automotive vehicles would reduce in number as when many live in close distance, walking could be more preferable. Thus, traffic jams could be eased and so could stress. However, hardly can apartment buildings bring the great impacts that parks and gardens can do, in terms of air quality and recreation. Trees, the Earth’s “green lungs” that filter pollutants in the air, create better air quality which directly boosts residents’ respiratory health. Furthermore, workers can stroll around public parks or botanical gardens after stressful working hours for entertainment. To conclude, apartment buildings’ benefits outweigh those of public green spaces when it comes to their central position in cities. Productivity and smooth traffic could be accelerated if we construct more accommodations close to the center. Air quality can also be improved thanks to the decline of congestion, and many other sources of recreation like shopping malls or cinemas can meet the daily needs of most people.