Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of Social networking sites, the world is now a global village. These sites are in high demand not only among teenagers or adults but also among the elderly. While many opine that posting private details on such platforms can lead to adverse ramifications like addiction or the constant seeking of approval but there are certain benefits that one can gain from them, that is, connectedness and support. This essay will elaborate on them further along with stating how pros overcome the cons. Firstly, Humans frequently waste their precious time by scrolling Instagram feeds. In other words, they are constantly engaged on it, moreover procrastinating on any mandatory chores or assignment. For instance, a recent study by “The Hindu” reported that an average adult spent 2 hours a day on social media. If this time could be saved, then other productive tasks may be done. Secondly, it creates an image of a utopian world for many like flawless skin, the perfect body which, in turn, leads to chronic stress among adolescents to match these high standards. Therefore, such sites may impact individuals by making them procrastinators but also under-confident. However, if following the right people or setting up a time limit while using these sites are done, then the effects could be reversed in a positive way as applications like Facebook have alleviated the problem of lost contacts and promoted learning. To embark on the former, an intuitive user interface enables users to chat, video call, or even search people; due to this, many adults are able to find their batchmates from schools and colleges. Secondly, one can form communities or groups as per their interest, in fact, there are several groups for language learners, digital marketers, which render one to get directions or mentorship. Hence, they play an indispensable role. To conclude, although networking platforms might create a false impression on some, and could also waste time they hold paramount importance as they are helping many by seeking lost connections as well as guidance to the needy.