Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views give your opinion.

People have different views about how to mitigate the crime rate. While some argue that extension of prison sentences is the best suited for this purpose, I believe that it would be more reasonable to conceive all the factors which might have affected the perpetrator at the time of the crime. On the one hand, prolonging the jail time can be a key element in coping with criminal activity. Long prison sentences provide an opportunity for criminals to recognize their mistakes of the past as well as to change their mind and behavior. For example, recent researches have shown that criminals who have served sentences of up to three years in prison inclined to re-violate the law, while perpetrators sentenced to more than 15 years after release become law-abiding citizens. It means that the extension of the period of imprisonment is an effective action to prevent crimes from happening again. On the other hand, it is understandable why some people, including myself, believe that people can successfully deal with crime as long as there is no need to break the law. It often happens that mentally healthy people break the law in order to survive in conditions of hunger, poverty and unemployment. For example, in countries such as Switzerland, Norway, and Sweden with a high standard of living, violent crimes are virtually nonexistent. Therefore, in countries with developed economy and high income level people do not need to rob, cheat or take bribes. Also, the cause of the offence may be self-defense. In such cases, the government should mediate the intensity of punishment. In conclusion, although fixed punishment for each criminal offense can deter people from any criminal act, it does not treat the actual problem and that is why it is more important to look at not only the severity of the crime but also the circumstances that led to it.