Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

It is often argued that giving longer prison sentence is the best approach to decrease crime while there are others who believe that other several effective methods should be adopted to minimize crime rates. In my opinion, other measures would be better as it helps criminal to become more responsible toward society. This essay will discuss both points of view. On the one hand, some people consider that giving proper education and employment opportunities to the people would be an effective alternative technique for lowering the crime. Job and education keep the masses busy, aware about their duties and responsibilities towards the nation. The job holders have no sufficient time to think about doing crime as their life is running according to the schedule. For instance, the study conducted by the Oxford University in 2019 reveals that chances of involving in crime among educated and employee personality was low. I think individuals should be made busy by providing them job and education in order to diminish proportion of crime. On the other hand, others argue that sentencing longer period in the custody is the most appropriate way to deter crime. Such penalty generates fear in culprits mind so that they think twice before committing any serious crime. This punishment also bring down the chance of doing another offensive activity by the same person. For example, in Japan, the rate of crime is very low because this country is adopting longer prisonment policy for the person who are involved in crime. I think that lawbreakers ought to be given prisonment but should not be kept long period of time for minor crime. To conclude, there are arguments for and against long imprisonment. Thus, government should research various methods to reduce crime and effective measure should be implemented.