Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides.

Security is an essential element of a society. Whereas some individuals state that the government must deal with the wrongdoings of criminals, others think that the general public should obtain that kind of protection themselves. This essay discusses both sides of the argument in depth. Government institutions must direct their efforts towards crime prevention in order to assure the safety of their citizens. The state is the only entity fully capable of punishing and of threatening inhabitants that break the law. For example, if somebody wants to steal money from others, that person must know what the consequences will be if he or she commits a crime. Although there will always exist people that will go against the obligations written down in a constitution, these laws will sure prevent some from committing transgressions. Federal institutions, as stated in the law, are the best suited organizations to deal with violations. While the government mainly gets criminals punished or threatened, the members of society are the ones who must protect themselves in the first place. Due to the fact that the majority of people lack private security, they must be cautious from possible crime perpetrators. Even though the police protects citizens, officers usually arrive to a crime scene when the wrongdoing has already happened. To illustrate, legal action is only taken after a house has been robbed not before. Individuals have to keep themselves safe from possible offenses. There are several manners to deal with transgressions. The state and the population have to be involved in the process of crime-prevention since there will be always citizens ready to commit violations. This essay explained the two views.