Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, it is essential to many people to be up to date with the latest news. It has been suggested that review of international news should become a school subject, although some think that it is waste of time. In this essay I will discuss both views and state my own position. Those who support reviewing global news in high school claim that it will improve general knowledge. This is because broad covered news often present significant details, that help to extend the horizon and gain better understanding of the world. It also seems that studying the news can develop analytical skills, because when they follow a story about a political rift between two countries, children are able to discover how the parties involved and what its consequence are. Meanwhile, opponents of international news as a subject claim that all TV and newspaper are biased, and may provide one-sided opinion. For example, due to the war in Iraq or Syria, youngsters may make unreasonable judgements towards any Arab friends, or even bully them. Furthermore, it is the way more important to spend students’ time on three R’s, rather than analyzing current affairs, which is very time-consuming activity. In conclusion, while there are convincing arguments on whether children should study global news or not, I believe that schools will teach basics of analytical skills to understand the world. However, they should avoid violent stories, which are described superficially and ambiguity is expressed. There is also should be enough time for more important subjects.