Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. dxgp

It is argued by some that the rates of crime will be decreased by putting criminals in jail for a long time as the most effective way, whilst others hold a belief that there are much better alternative ways to prevent criminal records. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favor of the latter. On the one hand, prolong the time spent by criminals must be increased in order to avert this rate. In other words, people think that getting punishment more than an expected time from far away the societies will drop down the numbers of crime committed and people who have a potential break the law. For instance, a survey conducted in the jails of Exeter showed that the percentage of culprits has declined at around 57% as the staying-time in prison being increased. On the other hand, others advocated that criminals can pay the cost of their damage in many ways. To put it another way, criminals can be convicted to offset their misdemeanor by rendering service to society under harsh conditions. For example, a book thief can be forced to work in a public library at no wage and until they die, and for the serious offenders, they should be compelled to clean all streets without almost no break. To conclude, there is a hectic debate about whether offenders should be kept long in jail or they can be utilized in favor of society. However, I believe that an extended period of time in jail would not decrease the crime records, they must be employed by governments for service to the public, in this way crimes will decline.