Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, say that there are too many drawbacks of putting people in jail. Do the advantages of prisons outweigh the drawbacks?

Some people are of the opinion that prisons and serving longer sentences are the answer to the reduction of crime while others feel that prison does not really work as there are so many disadvantages. Even though there are some drawbacks to this such as people re-offending when they are released, I still believe the overwhelming benefits of serving longer prison sentences far outweigh the drawbacks. The fact that prisons help to rehabilitate people because of the length of time they remain in jail could benefit them when they are eventually released. Even though there are many benefits to prisons, there are some drawbacks to them. One of these problems is that some criminals, once they have been released, may go on to commit more heinous crimes because they have learnt nothing from their stay in prison. Many Mafia members may leave prison and resume their criminal activity with more knowledge than before making them more dangerous. This is true but, on the other hand, this is not all offenders. Not everyone belongs to a criminal gang and these gangs are only a small minority. Most of the offenders who had commited a crime, would have learnt their lesson and be rehabilitated. This brings me to rehabilitation itself. Once an offender has served their time, most usually come out wanting to help others or their communities. There are more stories of people turning to God, peace and religion than there are of people who reoffend. More books have been written by former criminals who hate their old lifestyle of crime and write about how they went on to help others in need within societies. Compare that to the number of books, to which there are only a few, that refer to a former inmate who comes out to reoffend. In conclusion, although there is a risk and drawback of people coming out of prison to commit more crimes, the majority of these do not. Prisons have more benefits of helping criminals to see the wrongdoing they did and help to rehabilitate them.