Some People Think That The Best Way To Reduce Crime Is To Give Longer Prison Sentences

According to some people idea, sending criminals to jail for a long time contributes to crime deduction. Opponent claim that there are more effective options in order to decreasing crime rate in the society. I believe, be said with some certainty that alternative option works better, though it is necessary to be conscious that this way does not always hold true. Some criminal punishments that carries long years penalty are more effective for violent crime. So the sane person will be prevented from repeating the guilt. For instance, threatening people with a weapon in public place or deluding individuals those results in financial gain. These crimes should be controlled by the authorities who sentence long time prisons. So it decreases the risk of violence in the society and consequently the society will be safer. The other side of the coin is that poverty and lack of awareness is a contributing factor of crime occurrence. Because, the crime per capita is coupled with lower educated people in the society. People who are educated, rarely has an inclination towards crimes. For instance most of the lawbreakers are from poor regions and uneducated people. So it results in more violence. On the other hand, holding people in prison for a long time causes to mental health problem and increases the rate of violence, self-harm and suicide and also results in prisons overcrowding. Therefore, prisons does not work for this aim very well that much. For instance sending sheer number of people to prison causes to more health problem. So it results in new challenges in the society. Consequently, this way does not present a possible solution. To sum up, eventhogh some people are of the opinion that prison prevents raising crimes, nevertheless it is evident that longer punishment in jail does not lead to deep changes in society. I am unconvinced that keeping people in prisons for a long time contributes decreasing in violence. It is important that authorities should launch a full-scale investigation into justices and stop the one who are tough on crimes. The government could consider people treatment and developing better education facilities as a solution.