Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Currently, the criminal problem is the top concern for families as well as the society. While some people believe that longer prison sentences is the best method to address this problem as it creates a sense of fear in the potential offenders, others think that there are more effective ways. From my point of view, it depends on what kind of crime is to decide to punish. To begin with, there are benefits of giving offenders longer prison punishment. Firstly, the criminals who committed crimes such as sexual assault, murder and drug trafficking should be put into jail for a long period. It helps innocent people and teenagers live in a safe world. Furthermore, the longer offenders stay in a prison, the higher chances of them to re-educate their characters. For example, Le Van Luyen, killing seven people in a family when he was 18 years old, was remanded in custody for 20 years because of his wrong-doing. This illustration deters a lawbreaker from doing the same thing as him. On the other hand, I support the view that there are more effective and realistic approaches to reduce crimes. The government must focus on education and creation of jobs. Education must be either free or affordable as this is the opportunity to gain better qualifications to acquire good jobs. Moreover, it is the responsibility of government to invest in creating jobs and providing their access. Therefore, if people are well-educated, they will land a well-paid job and will not resort to any criminal acts. In conclusion, I strongly believe that there are many ways to decrease the crime rates depending on the different elements that I mentioned above.