Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

It is thought by some individuals that, the most effective way to alleviate criminal activity is to hand the culprits a longer prison sentence, while others opined that, other measures to reduce crime abound. This essay will discuss both views and clearly state the reasons why I believe, other productive channels should be considered to ameliorate nefarious acts. On the one hand, long incarceration ensures that criminals are removed and locked out of the functioning population. This is because, they are housed in maximum facilities, where no interaction with the general population is allowed, and consequently, this results in a rather crime-free environment, devoid of these nefarious individuals. For example, having a burglar committed to at least five years in the penitentiary, would ensure he never tries such in an instant. In addition, locking up a criminal in maximum prison for an extended period, facilitates his remission, and reduce their propensity to perpetrate such crimes in the future. On the other hand, locking up a wayward bandit in exile, is not enough to curb their criminal intents and latent innocuous behaviour. Conscious effort is needed to rehabilitate and re-orient them, before their incorporation into the society. Hence, handing prison sentences and making them serve time, would become a wasted attempt to help the populace. For instance, a study conducted by The American Society of Psychologists, found that, the more rehabilitative effort rather than incarceration, towards a criminal, the more the possibility of reducing their crime threshold. Therefore, the environs benefit a greater deal from re-orientating these folks, than from their imprisonment. To conclude, while it is important to imprison criminals and, thereby, reducing crimes. It is more beneficial to explore other methods, which include; rehabilitation and reorientation of bandits. This will cause a change in their psyche and decrease their threshold to committing crime, and will lead to a total overhaul of criminality in the society.