Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

A common opinion is that, to have lesser crimes in the country, people wish the government to enforce certain rules to constrict the prevailing laws; therefore, the criminals won't get a chance to escape easily. Others believe that, there should not be any harsh punishments for prisoners. Here in this essay, I will discuss both of the arguments. Generally speaking, there are increasing number of crimes getting reported each day all over the world; however, the public is aware of most of the severe cases. Crimes can be divided into major classifications like serious crimes and minor crimes. For instance, molestation, terrorism and sexual harassment have to be treated as serious issues. These culprits have to be given long prison sentences. On the other hand, crimes like theft and robbery can be treated as less important cases compared to the above mentioned ones. Secondly, if we consider the other available alternatives, minor crimes can be treated in different ways according to the severity. For example, we can focus on the number of people affected by the crime, any serious injuries taken place or not, and the cost incurred to settle down the crime. If we never differentiate the crimes, there won't be any seriousness among criminals while they attempt crimes. Taking everything into consideration, I would argue that, crimes have to be distinguished; moreover the punishments too. Newly established lawsuits have to be put up for display in public or has to be advertised in social media. Then only the imprisonment becomes meaningful, and humankind will be aware of these rules and regulations.