Nowadays, families move to different countries for work. Some people think it has a negative effect on children, while others disagree.

Immigration has been all the rage in today’s world. Opinions differ from whether or not children will be benefitted when their parents relocate to another country for work. These views will be discussed in the essay below, followed by my personal perspective at the end. There are several reasons why people think it is advantageous for children to move with their parents to other countries. First, living in different places allows the kids to expose to various cultures and lifestyles, thus broadening their horizons and leading them to be more flexible and adaptable. To be precise, those who have lived in any Southeast Asian countries like Indonesia before would probably be able to walk confidently in streets in Vietnam due to the similarities in the transportation of the two countries. Second, relocating to a new country, especially developed countries, offers young children an opportunity to learn a new language and access to better education. This might bring the prospect of a better life for them in the future since education plays an important role in everyone’s life, particularly children. This is why many people from the Middle East have immigrated to Europe and United States recently. On the other hand, opponents believe that this move could do more harm than good for youngsters. Regardless of how good the education the kids are going to have, they might struggle to fit in new schools and to make new friends, especially with the language barrier. Additionally, there is a likelihood for them to face social discrimination, which is unavoidable. For instance, a Muslim student might be mistreated in the Western country that he or she has just moved to due to his or her religion, or a student with a different skin colour could become a victim of some school’s gangs. These issues would leave emotional and psychological pains in children and discourage them to emerge into the new environment, preventing them from moving forward in later periods in their lives. In my opinion, there are both benefits and drawbacks of immigration. Parents should be aware of these and come up with potential solutions to help their offspring overcome initial difficulties and enjoy their lives to the fullest.