Some people think that the best wat to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative wats or reducing crime.

How criminal acts should be punished has been debated for many years. Some may argue that an increased jail time would help decrease crime rates, whereas others believe that there are other measures which can be more effective. In this essay I will discuss both of these views and why I agree that alternative methods are much for effective in reducing crime. With regards to longer prison sentences, many believe that this is a successful method in decreasing the amount of criminal activity in our society. One reason for this view is that imprisonment acts as a deterrent, by which people are separated from their friends and family and their freedom is restricted. A recent study showed that 48% of prisoners were less likely to commit further criminal acts due to the fact that they did not want to spend more time in jail. Thus, a lengthy prison sentence would further discourage people from performing law breaking acts as they are aware of the consequences if they do so. Therefore, an increased jail time will provide criminals with an incentive to not break the law. Although, increasing the duration inhabitants spend in ail may help to discourage them, I believe that this is only a short-term gain. Law breakers need to be educated and taught how to be better law bidding citizens in order for crime rates to reduce. An example of this would be; providing inmates with therapy and educational lessons on why they committed such acts and helping them to understand their behaviours and situation, so it will not occur in the future. This method will help them to acknowledge their wrong doings and give them a strategy on how to become better people. Thus, these alternative methods can be more effective in reducing criminal rates. In conclusion, although by increasing the amount of time law breakers spend behind bars may discourage them from committing crime, I believe that using an alternative approach, such as education and therapy, can diminish crime activity long term.