Some people think governments are responsible for peoples health, others believe its an indiviuduals responsibility.

Healthcare remains a very crucial part of out basic amenities. The topic of whether or not people or the government should be held accountable for issues partaining to health,   remains very controversial. In my opinion, the government should be solely in charge of the health of its citizens at all times. On one hand, health care as well as the funding for the research into cures and vaccines are expensive. Private firms and singular entities cannot bear the burden alone. Furthermore, the cost of hospital admissions, investigations and medications would cripple the finances of the individual without governemt aid and policies. All fingers are not equal, therefore, the government plays a huge role by providing subsidized care to patients in its publicly funded facilities. People cannot afford to pay for most of the services because of financial constraints.   For example, data from a survey carried out by the World Health Organization, in Nigeria, in 2013, revealed that many Nigerians depend entirely on the presidency to access excellent medical care. On the other hand, people are the masters of their bodies. Most diseases in the world today are preventable, that is, they are mostly caused by poor lifestyle choices. Individuals should inculcate the habit of proper diet, exercise and regular medical checkups to keep fit and also  to detect illnesses in the early stages. In conclusion, while some are of the opinion that governments should be responsible for health, others are of the school of thought that it rests on the individual. I believe that it is the  responsibility of the state to cater for the health of all its nationals.