Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

It is often argued by many that social networking sites have numerous bad impacts on people and society. In my opinion, I do agree that they have had damaging effect on the society. However, I believe it brings positive impact on individuals. This essay will firstly discuss the benefits of social networking sites on individuals and secondly the drawbacks of it on the society. The impact of social media has had on each individual has clear advantage. Firstly, communication has never been easier without social media. That means, it is extremely easy for people to interact with their friends and family by using social networking tools such as Facebook, even when they are thousand miles away from them. For instance, a girl from Germany will be able to communicate with her Malaysian friend by just pressing a button on Facebook, with no cost at all. On the other hand, social media sites have had on society can only be seen as negative. In this modern world, people are very likely to be more interested to play with their phone instead of talking to their family or friends in person, which resulted in bad relationship. It also means, people are more likely to have bad communication with their loved ones. For example, it has been reported by Times that there are 50% of the people who has broken up for spending too much time on social media. To conclude, although social networking has brought individuals closer together, it has negative impacts on the society. The community should always balance out the time that they should spend on social media in order to have a healthy relationship between people.