Some people think that the amount of time we spend using the internet has a negative effect on social interaction, but other people feel that it opens up more possibilities for communication. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using the internet.

Without a doubt, the internet has become one of the most important and transformative technologies in modern history. Not only is it an exceptional communication tool, but it is also cost effective for most people. While the internet has positively changed the way we communicate, it also has some damaging effects for individuals and society. Prior to the internet, communication was limited to telephones, letters, faxes, or face to face if you were in the same area. This was quite often costly due to exorbitant telephone charges, if calling abroad, and high postage fees and wait times for letters to arrive. The internet solved those issues by allowing users to connect instantaneously with little to no cost. It has also opened the door for people, who do not always have time or the ability to physically meet one another, stay in contact via many of the social media applications on offer. As an expatriate living in Egypt it is hideously expensive to telephone friends and family in Australia. Not only is cost an issue, but the time difference is also a problem. However, with the advent of applications such as WhatsApp and Viber, I can leave my family messages at any time of the day, free of charge. Thus, ease of communication is possible due to the internet. Despite having many plus points, there is unfortunately a darker side to the internet. Due to the fact that internet access is easily accessible for most people, this connectivity is resulting in obsessive usage. It is a common occurrence in many homes these days that families sit in the same room for hours on end, never uttering a single word to each other. Why, because they are utterly obsessed with surfing the net, playing games or messaging friends online. We find that most people, myself included, find it nigh on impossible to put down our devices in case we ‘miss’ something. This addictive behaviour has started to result in a breakdown of social skills – we are in danger of losing our ability to effectively talk to one another face to face. To contemplate a world without the internet is something unimaginable. Society has gained a great deal since the internet’s inception, particularly in terms of ease of communication. However, although obsessive usage is problematic, people should control the time spent online; thus, minimising anti-social behaviour.