Many people today spend more time watching sports than playing sports. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that in the modern world people prefer watching games like football and cricket instead of playing them, mainly because of the lack of time and energy which is required to play games. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative effects. On the one hand, a vast majority of people are working longer hours to afford basic necessities such as food, clothing and shelter, which means they do not have enough time to play games upon returning home. Certainly, this not only deteriorates their physical health but also reduces their mental wellness. In other words, people who spend less time on physical activities such as playing games have high chances of getting diseases like obesity, high blood pressure and depression. For instance, according to the World Health Organisation, 80% of the corporate employees are suffering from diseases including obesity and depression, due to their least involvement in games. On the other hand, people watch sports while they are resting after the hectic day, and the excitement and enthusiasm involves in sports is definitely a best form of exercise to relax. Obviously, people do not have stamina to play games at that point of the day. To exemplify, my brother works 7: 00 AM to 7: 00 PM and he do not have enough time to play cricket but at the same time he loves cricket. Thus, the only alternative for him to get his passion going is to watch cricket. To conclude, the trend of watching sports instead of playing can certainly have drawbacks in the form of health issues but it is a best way of getting relax in busy days for the sports lover.