Some people think that teenagers should be punished as an adult when they do things illegally. Is it a positive or negative development?

A number of people conclude that youngsters who committed crimes should be put in jail. This essay will cast light on the merits and demerits of this trend and prove that it has negative effects. On the one hand, there are several reasons why prison sentences for adolescents are acceptable. An apparent explanation is that imprisonment successfully isolates young offenders from the good people. In particular, after breaking the law and being sent to jail, teenagers have a chance to reflect on what they have offended and are not likely to harm other citizens. In addition, incarceration may prevent youngsters from committing crimes again. For instance, lawbreakers are not in touch with family and friends for a long time so this could be an unforgettable lesson for them to not take part in unlawful acts again. On the other hand, the downsides of putting teenagers in jail could possibly outweigh the above discussed upsides. The first compelling justification is that imprisonment may ruin the criminal's future. It is undeniable that a student who committed crimes before has less chance to gain a job or even could not make it to continue his study. Furthermore, prisons have extremely serious health implications. Offenders may have physical and mental problems due to the lack of nutrition in meals as well as inadequate sanitation. Moreover, they have the risk of suffering deathly diseases such as HIV which could become a severe problem for the community later. All things considered, the crimes among young adults could be cut down by imposing stricter rules and educating students better.