imprisonment and solutions for crimes

To modern citizens, criminals being sent to prison are no longer a strange punishment. From my perspective, although prison sentences prove their upsides, they still have downsides that could be considered. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this viewpoint as well as several ways to reduce the number of lawbreakers. On the one hand, it is clear that jail decisions for people who commit crimes have a total of benefits. First, they could play an essential role in deterring offenders from committing crime. As the civilizations are getting advanced, security in jails is also being upgraded consequently as prisoners are locked in firm buildings with guards for twenty-four hours that they have no chance to break the law. Second, convicts in the prisons are isolated from society since it is a part of their sentences. During the time offenders are put in jails, they follow the strict routine of the lockup place which is different from usual life, thereby a figure of offenders change and are released from the jail. On the other hand, it is undeniable that there are several drawbacks of this type of sentence. To begin with, this punishment creates a poverty circle that could affect the people related to the criminal. For instance, the man who committed crimes is the breadwinner of his family, and the wife as well as his children would not have abundant money to pay for their basic needs. Moreover, owing to the fact that offenders are put in prison, there could be health threats to lawbreakers and the community. To be particular, in case a prisoner had infectious diseases, since there is no contact with the medical profession developments outside the lockup place, not only would the man’s condition get worse, but also other criminals would be affected. In addition, I would like to suggest several solutions to reduce the number of people who commit offenses. Firstly, it is obvious that residents should be educated on laws. For example, a teenager who is legally educated would be aware of his behavior and studying as well as lending people around him a hand instead of robbing or causing accidents. Secondly, there should be improved education for poverty-stricken families consequently they would have better lives. In particular, poor people who are provided jobs would have payment to care for their home, thereby they wouldn’t commit crimes anymore. In conclusion, I confirm that society should balance between considering the upsides and downsides of criminals being sent to prison in order to make right judgements for lawbreakers.