Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right or wrong so that they can behave well. Others say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects.

There are people who think the role of the teacher is to instruct students how to act. However, others take the view that teachers have responsibility for teaching academics. I personally believe providing students with academic knowledge, which makes them feel more secure and confident in their future career opportunities, overrides teaching the correct behaviour. On the one hand, teachers play an active part in the classroom when it comes to discipline. Teachers are students’ role models, as they are the most influential people in students’ lives. Their behaviour in the class can shape the way learners grow and exemplify the students’ future behaviour. For example, an effective teacher inspires learners to make an effort to reach their fullest potential and see the best in themselves, so they can do the same for others when they are grown up. It is also important for any educator to practice what they preach, since if they say one thing and do another, students will no longer follow their advice and consequently get caught up in criminal activities. Therefore, educators should practice in accordance with the value they preach. On the other hand, teachers should put a high value on teaching academics rather than spend the class hours on correcting learners’ behaviour. One of the most crucial roles of teachers is to impart knowledge to students and help them fulfil their ambition. The knowledge that gives them insights into the world as it really is. Moreover, a well-qualified teacher not only contributes significantly to learners’ intellectual development and understanding, but also helps them to secure a better career which is best suited to their talents or intellect. To illustrate, teaching science subjects offers students an opportunity to know how things work or operate, or how to become a successful doctor, an engineer, etc. To sum up, although students require discipline in order to be socialized, they need the academic knowledge more because it seems unlikely for any teacher to educate and to discipline in the limited time of the class. Therefore, I strongly believe it would be for the best if teachers be responsible for academic knowledge of students and put the rest on parents’ shoulder.