Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right and wrong so that they can behave well. Others say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects.

There has recently been a debate regarding whether teachers are responsible or not for guiding the school learners what is correct and incorrect, while some people think that it is not included in teachers’ working criteria. In my point of view, teachers should teach the students in order to help them to improve in every way possible. Firstly, some people think that teachers are responsible for teaching what is correct and incorrect because it might assist the learner to identify what should they behave in the society. For example, if a child does not know anything when they are working in the society, it would not help them to solve the problem. They might just continue with the false concept. Possibly this will lead to a conclusion that everyone working in their own way. If this exists in Hong Kong, there will be a huge argument every day non-stop as people think that their own idea is correct, but actually not. However, some people believe that teachers should only teach things that are related to the school syllabus. It is because they think that the parents will teach their own child at home. They will tell the kids what should they do and it is parents’ responsibilities to guide their own child. Also, some parents think that teachers might teach bad things to their kids. For example, there are some teachers at the University of Hong Kong telling the students to occupy Central. This is extremely unacceptable. Due to this, parents only required the teachers to teach school-related stuff. In my opinion, I agree with teachers only teaching school-based stuff would be a better option because for me personally, I do not listen to the teachers at all, I know that my parents will teach me how to behave and what I should do. For example, some teachers told me that I am doing something wrong, but still, I do not want to listen to them. As their words aren’t influential at all, it won’t make any impact on me. To conclude, I think teachers should only focus on academic studies instead of teaching the learner about righteous and wrongness. Our parents will be responsible for that.