Some people think that students should study whatever they like. others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

The last 25 years have seen significant changes in people's outlook towards life and as a result, family ties notably weakened. Modernisation and changing lifestyles have changed family values of people, over time. In this essay, I will discuss some of the several factors responsible for this change and will also suggest ways in which families can develop a stronger bond. Firstly, we need to understand the factors causing this change, only then we can think of measures to bring people together. One of the many reasons for this, is the growth of technology and a busy work schedule. Modern developments and advancement in the field of Computer Science have made lives considerably easier, but have greatly hampered the family ties. Young people have moved to new cities and different countries in search of better jobs and improved life quality. For example, in China, the joint family structure has altered a lot in the last couple years. The young Chinese generation have moved and are moving to distant English speaking countries for career advancement opportunities and higher remuneration. Due to this, there is a sharp fall in the number of large joint family units, by almost 40%. Another big factor, is the rise of the social media. The younger generation is more interested in maintaining friendships and relations with their families, via platforms like Facebook, Google and Instagram, rather than, participating in social gatherings and family functions. Such as, in the U. S, now only 40% of the American population, have dinner together with their families. Also, for instance, the fast track, busy lifestyle in the Netherlands and Germany, has lead to a 30% decrease in Christmas and Thanksgiving family get-togethers. There are different ways in which this problem can be minimised and families can be brought together. Education and raising awareness about the importance of sharing a strong bond with relatives should be highlighted. As revealed by schools in Canada, where moral science curriculums have stressed on teaching children, the benefits and values of sharing close-knit ties with cousins, grandparents, uncles, aunts and parents. Therefore, more Canadians have realised the significance of relationships and are spending more time with their near and dear ones. Furthermore, the governments and multinational companies worldwide, can take steps to reduce job related pressure. They should allow more incentives and grant paid leave, so that family members can enjoy their time with each-other. To exemplify, many Scandinavian corporate companies have started a 4-day work week and have increased the wages and annual paid leave of their employees. Owing to this, there has been great improvement in the social life of people. The Danes and the Norwegian youth are seen, spending their vacations socialising with their grandparents and cousins. In summary, families are very important. The 21st century has observed prominent technological advancements, the popularity of social media, mass immigration, professional growth, and educational competitions which have impacted close-knit family structures in a negative way, worldwide. Even though, familial relationship ties today, are not as strong as it used to be in the past, we can always work together to bring people together. Both the governments and individuals share this responsibility. Raising awareness and realising the seriousness of family connections and one's roots is the first crucial step to improve matters. Reducing workload, increasing wages, granting more paid leave, organising family gatherings and the governments ensuring these implementations take place, can definitely bring people together and strengthen social bonds.