Some people think that students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Other think students should spend more time on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

People debate whether students ought to learn about food and cooking, whether they should focus on important subjects. In my opinion, although food seems to be not important thing to learn about, it actually has a huge impact on our lives. Therefore, I think, learning and raising awareness about it should be mandatory at schools. Knowledge about food and preparing it is really relevant. If people are not taught to pay attention to it, they are more prone to succumb to unhealthy habits and lead an unhealthy lifestyle. It has a significant impact on their lives because they cannot function properly and they may suffer from diseases, such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, joints problems, anemia. It is also a big burden for the nationals health systems which have to allocate more funding for combating these problems. Moreover, if people do not know how to store and prepare food they end up wasting a lot of food. It is thought, that in the UK 17 per cent of food is wested each year for this reason. On the other hand, other subjects seem to be more important. Getting to a university or getting a job depends on the knowledge which people enable at school and food habits have nothing to do with it. Taking time for teaching about food causes that less time is devoted to teaching about vital subjects. Furthermore, students become less focused on things they meant to be focused in order to pass their exams. In summary, although food and preparing it seem to be not a first importance in students curriculum, as it does not have a direct impact on their chance to pass their exams and get a better job in the future, actually it is important. Without knowledge about food they cannot lead a healthy life and manage food properly.