In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Telling children that they will achieve anything as long as they put in enough effort is prevalent in certain cultures. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of this message. To begin with the positives, this message can strongly motivate individuals to achieve things through sheer determination. To illustrate, consider those who pursue a career in professions like music, or sports, which tend to have unstable and irregular incomes. In this case, they can benefit from this message by believing in themselves and keeping going, despite this type of career having low possibilities of taking off. One of the best instances for this is a Canadian singer, The Weekends. Growing up, he had been told that he will be a successful singer and even leave his mark globally one day. Now that he has become the world famous pop star, he inspires other people never to give up on their dreams and stay passionate, although it takes grit. In contrast, there are also some possible negative effects of telling children that they will achieve anything with sufficient effort. For example, suppose that an individual was constantly being told that they could accomplish anything but ended up failing to produce any positive results. As a consequence, this way of teaching will not only set them up for disillusionment but also traumatize some of them, discouraging these individuals from achieving little things afterwards. While some might believe that hard work equals success, there are some exceptions to it as the connection between effort and achievement is rather intricate. In conclusion, while teaching children that hard work will guarantee success can be a great source of motivation, overall, it causes a number of opposite effects. Therefore, parents need to strike a healthy balance so that their children can have better potential for a better achievement.